Kumtor Mine Launches a Unique Dust Suppression Device

published: 16 May 2022

The Kumtor Gold Company CJSC (KGC) has commissioned a custom-made device specifically designed for the Kumtor mine with a view to minimize the dust from working mining equipment. The solution to this problem was demanded, among other things, by members of the State Commission on Kumtor.

The water cannon is a complex device designed by one of the leading manufacturers in Europe. Specialists of the company based in Netherlands came to Kyrgyzstan in advance to study the difficult climate of the alpine area.

The device is controlled remotely and will be placed strategically at ore loading sites. A jet of water vapor reaches a length of 90 meters, enough to suppress all the dust within a radius of 150 meters. The tank holds 16 tons of water, which is enough for a day of uninterrupted operation.

  • Currently, KGC pays special attention to the environmental safety, biodiversity conservation, and compliance with all technical standards at the mine. We also work closely with the Ministry of Natural Resources, Environment and Technical Supervision, simultaneously working with the National Academy of Sciences and glaciologists to conduct studies of the glaciers, – says Talantbek Kozhoev, coordinator of Kumtor’s Environmental Protection Department.

The issue with dust control is well known to all mining enterprises. After the transfer of Kumtor to Kyrgyzstan, special attention is paid to overcoming this problem. All roads in the pit and the technical access road that connects the mine with the Bishkek-Karakol highway are regularly watered, and in the winter season we use a special safe biopolymer solution.

Dust is one of the factors that accelerate the melting of glaciers, and the new management of the Company has set the objective of preventing this. In this regard, preparatory work for the start of underground development of the mine is currently in full swing at KGC. This is a priority project aimed at preserving the glaciers.

  • “Zero impact on the glaciers” is our key focus. Part of the ore will come from underground mining, and the other part will be mined from oxide ores, this is quite a different technology. Most oxide ores do not come in contact with glaciers at all, said Tengiz Bolturuk, president of the National Holding Company “Great Nomads Heritage”, which currently runs KGC.

These and many other measures that are currently being implemented at the Kumtor mine are part of a comprehensive program aimed at improving the environmental situation at the operation and in the region.

Previous publicationKumtor sponsored the tour of the National Philharmonic artists in Batken Next publicationKumtor to help develop the equestrian school in Bishkek
© 2011-2022 "Kumtor Gold Company." Copying of materials is possible only with written permission.

На руднике «Кумтор» заработала уникальная установка по пылеподавлению

Опубликовано: 16 May 2022

ЗАО «Кумтор Голд Компани» (КГК) запустило в действие специально разработанную для рудника «Кумтор» установку, призванную свести до минимума объем пыли от работающей горной техники. Решение этой проблемы требовали в том числе члены государственной комиссии по Кумтору.

Водяная пушка — сложное устройство, разработанное одним из ведущих производителей в Европе. Специалисты компании из Нидерландов заранее приезжали в Кыргызстан, чтобы изучить непростые климатические условия высокогорья.

Установка управляется с помощью дистанционного пульта и будет работать непосредственно на участках, где идет погрузка руды. Струя водяного пара достигает длины 90 метров, этого достаточно, чтобы сбить всю пыль в радиусе 150 метров. В бак вмещается 16 тонн воды, этого запаса хватает на сутки бесперебойной работы.

  • В настоящее время КГК уделяет особое внимание экологической безопасности, сохранению биоразнообразия, и соблюдению всех технических норм на руднике. Также мы тесно работаем с Министерством природных ресурсов, экологии и технического надзора, параллено проводим работы с Национальной академией наук и гляциологами по изучению состояния ледников, — говорит координатор отдела охраны окружающей среды КГК Талантбек Кожоев.

Проблема борьбы с пылью хорошо знакома всем горнорудным предприятиям. После перехода «Кумтора» Кыргызстану, на решение этой задачи обращают особое внимание. Все дороги в карьере и на технологической трассе, которая соединяет рудник с дорогой Бишкек-Каракол, регулярно поливают водой, а в зимний период — специальным безопасным биополимерным составом.

Пыль — это один из факторов, который влияет на ускорение таяния ледников, и новое руководство Компании поставило задачу препятствовать этому. В связи с этим в данное время в КГК полным ходом идут подготовительные работы для начала подземной разработки месторождения. Это приоритетный проект, призванный сохранить ледники.

  • Не трогать ледники — для нас это очень принципиально. Часть руды будет приходить через подземную разработку, а другую часть будем добывать из оксидных руд, это уже другая технология. Большинство оксидных руд вообще не касаются ледников, — заявил Тенгиз Болтурук, президент Национальной холдинговой компании «Наследие Великих Кочевников», под управлением которой находится КГК.

Эти и многие другие меры, которые сейчас внедряются на руднике «Кумтор», являются частью комплексной программы, направленной на улучшение экологической обстановки на предприятии и в регионе.

Предыдущая публикация«Кумтор» выступил спонсором гастролей солистов Национальной филармонии в Баткене Следующая публикация«Кумтор» поможет развитию конноспортивной школы в Бишкеке
© 2011-2022 «Кумтор Голд Компани». Копирование материалов возможно только с письменного разрешения администрации.