Last weekend, a group of students and professors from the American University of Central Asia (AUCA) visited the Kumtor mine as part of their information visit. The group consisted of students from the Department of Applied Geology, Environmental Management and Sustainable Development, as well as the Business Administration Department.

The visit has become a continuation of the Kumtor Gold Company’s guest lecture on risk management, which was held at the university last week. During the tour, students got acquainted with the gold mining and production process, as well as the environmental programs. The group visited the open pit, the Mill, the residential camp and the tailings dam. At the end of the visit, students have managed to see a herd of mountain Argali on the territory of the mine.

At every production site, the company specialists gave detailed answers to the questions about the company’s production activities curiously asked by students and professors. Students were also given the opportunity to examine the largest dump truck, involved in the production process, up close.
“The visit to the Kumtor mine provided our students with an excellent opportunity to see and understand how such a large-scale production process is arranged. Students could talk directly to the company specialists who answered all their questions on site. Many students have heard for the first time about some of the company’s solutions and innovations applied to ensure environmental sustainability,” said Alessandra Sztrimbely, Assistant Professor at AUCA, who accompanied the students during the trip.

“I thought they would provide very little information and it would be one-sided, however, to my surprise, the mine specialists carried on an open dialogue and shared their experience with great pleasure. It was very informative and interesting to visit the Kumtor mine,” AUCA student Akylbek Kenjebek said.

В минувшие выходные группа студентов и преподаватели из Американского Университета в Центральной Азии (АУЦА) в рамках ознакомительного визита побывали на руднике «Кумтор». Группа состояла из студентов факультета Прикладной геологии, Экологического менеджмента и устойчивого развития, а также Управления бизнесом.

Визит стал продолжением гостевой лекции Кумтор Голд Компани об управлении рисками на производстве, которая прошла в вузе на прошлой неделе. В ходе экскурсии студенты ознакомились с процессом добычи и производства золота, а также программах по охране окружающей среды. Группа посетила карьер, золотоизвлекательную фабрику, жилой лагерь, а также побывала на дамбе хвостохранилища. В заключении визита студентам удалось увидеть стадо горных архаров на территории предприятия.

Специалисты компании на каждом участке производства подробно отвечали на интересующие студентов и преподавателей вопросы о производственной деятельности компании. Студентам также была предоставлена возможность вблизи разглядеть самый большой самосвал, задействованный в производственном процессе.
«Экскурсия на рудник «Кумтор» дала отличную возможность нашим студентам увидеть и понять, как устроен столь масштабный производственный процесс. Студенты напрямую смогли поговорить со специалистами компании, которые отвечали на все их вопросы на местах. Многие впервые слышали о некоторых изучаемых компанией решениях и нововведениях, применяемых для обеспечения экологической устойчивости», – отметила Алессандра Стримбели, преподаватель АУЦА, сопровождавшая группу в поездке.

«Я думал нам предоставят очень мало информации о она будет однобокой, однако, к моему удивлению, специалисты вели открытый диалог и с большим удовольствием делились своим опытом. Было очень информативно и интересно посетить рудник «Кумтор», – отметил студент АУЦА Акылбек Кенжебек.