The Prime Minister of Kyrgyzstan met with Management of Centerra Gold Inc.

published: 30 August 2011



On August 30, 2011, Prime Minister of the Kyrgyz Republic Almazbek Atambayev met with the President of Centerra Gold Inc., the company that is developing the Kumtor gold deposit in Issyk-Kul oblast.

During the meeting, the Company’s President, Stephen Lang, informed the head of the Kyrgyz government about the decision of the company’s Board of Directors to allocate $10 million in support of new school construction program in Kyrgyzstan. The Company is to allocate the funds within one month. Also, he said a representative of Kyrgyzstan would be appointed as a Vice President of Centerra Gold Inc. in the coming days.

Almazbek Atambayev noted that such support for socially important projects in Kyrgyzstan would improve the company’s image in this country, especially with the people of Kyrgyzstan being the company’s shareholder.

Also, the Prime Minister underscored the Kyrgyz Government’s commitment to deal with the mining companies transparently and honestly so as to make their investment beneficial to the nation at large and safe.

In addition, the parties agreed that the company would increase its payments to the Social Fund. The relevant agreement will also be signed soon.

Summarizing the results of the meeting, Almazbek Atambayev pointed out the importance of cooperation between Kyrgyzstan and Centerra Gold Inc that is developing this country’s largest gold deposit for the benefit of the nation, and came out in support of the company’s efforts to boost the country’s mining sector and bring more investment to Kyrgyzstan.

Special mention should be made of the Kyrgyz government’s efforts due to which the number of the Company’s Directors representing Kyrgyzstan will be increased from 2 to 3 persons.

The State Web-Portal www.gov.kg 

Photo RIA Novosti ©

Previous publicationResults of the Second Quarter of 2011 Next publicationKumtor Operating Company Supports Publication of the Book "Mastering CSR: Complicated Things as Explained in Simple Words - Kyrgyzstan"
© 2011-2022 "Kumtor Gold Company." Copying of materials is possible only with written permission.

Стоимость акций Centerra Gold Inc. на бирже в Торонто на 20.10.2020: 9.86 USD Стоимость доли акций КР в Centerra Gold Inc.: 763 181 412 USD

Премьер-министр Кыргызстана встретился с руководством Компании «Centerra Gold Inc»

Опубликовано: 30 August 2011

30 августа 2011 года Премьер-министр Кыргызской Республики Алмазбек Атамбаев  встретился с руководством компании “Centerra Gold Inc“, которая занимается разработкой золоторудного месторождения “Кумтор” в Иссык-Кульской области.

На встрече президент компании Стивен Ланг проинформировал главу Правительства о решении совета директоров компании выделить 10 миллионов долларов США  на поддержку строительства  новых школ в Кыргызстане. Компания выделит средства в течении месяца. Также он проинформировал о том, что на днях вице-президентом компании “Centerra Gold Inc“ будет назначен  представитель Кыргызстана.

Алмазбек Атамбаев отметил, что подобная поддержка социально важных проектов в Кыргызстане будет способствовать изменению имиджа компании в стране. Ведь  акционером  компании  является   народ Кыргызстана.

Также, Премьер-министр подчеркнул намерения Правительства страны работать прозрачно и честно с горнодобывающими компаниями, чтобы их инвестиции приносили выгоду для всей страны,  и они были уверены в защите своих инвестиций.

Кроме того, стороны пришли к договоренности об увеличении выплат Социальному фонду со стороны компании. Соответствующее соглашение также будет подписано в ближайшее время.

Подводя итоги встречи, Алмазбек Атамбаев отметил важность сотрудничества с “Centerra Gold Inc”, которая разрабатывает крупнейшее золоторудное месторождение на благо страны, и поддержал усилия компании по развитию горнодобывающего сектора страны и увеличению инвестиций в Кыргызстан.

Стоит отметить, что  усилиями Правительства страны в ближайшее время  количество членов совета директоров компании  от Кыргызстана будет увеличено от 2 до 3 человек.

Источник: Государственный Интернет Портал  www.gov.kg 

Фото РИА Новости ©

Предыдущая публикацияИтоги II квартала 2011 года Следующая публикация«Кумтор Оперейтинг Компани» поддержала издание книги «Осваиваем КСО: просто о сложном - Кыргызстан»
Стоимость акций Centerra Gold Inc. на бирже в Торонто на 20.10.2020: 9.86 USD Стоимость доли акций КР в Centerra Gold Inc.: 763 181 412 USD
© 2011-2020 «Кумтор Голд Компани». Копирование материалов возможно только с письменного разрешения администрации.