Kumtor Underground Mine

published: 27 December 2021

During the period of temporary external management at Kumtor Gold Company CJSC (KGС), in order to stop the destruction of glaciers and mining of gold-bearing ore in a more environmentally friendly and economically profitable way, the Kumtor deposit development strategy was changed with a gradual transition from open pit to underground operations.

Underground mining will allow Kyrgyzstan to significantly reduce environmental damage and abandon unsustainable mining practices. During the management of the Canadian Centerra Gold, the mining operations at Kumtor were carried out by traditional open cast methods. As a result, mining of 1 tonne of gold-bearing ore requires the extraction of waste rock between 41 and 60 tonnes. According to this indicator KGC is on the 1st place in the world among mining companies. The usual global average  stripping ratio ranges from 2 to 7 tonnes of waste rock per 1 tonne of ore. For example, this ratio is 1:2 at Oksut mine in Turkey and 1:1 at Mount Milligan mine in Canada. Both facilities are owned and operated by Centerra Gold. Environmental requirements established in Canada and Turkey prevent mining companies from using destructive mining methods in their territories.

Underground mining is aimed at more selective extraction of gold-bearing ores with a very low stripping ratios: 1:2 or maximum 1:3. According to preliminary data, Kumtor’s underground ores contain more than 5 grams of gold per tonne, which is almost twice as much as in open pit mining. The expected total cost of underground mining will be lower than the current cost, despite the higher operating costs of  underground mining.

It should be noted that KGC had planned the underground project and implemented it from 2008 to 2012, but the project was stopped sooner. Though the project costs amounted to about USD 180 millions.

A new Project Department was opened at KGC to implement the underground project. The process of staffing with high qualified foreign and local specialists is currently ongoing.

Previous publicationTechnological scheme was changed at Kumtor Mill with a view to improve the gold recovery and to reduce reagent consumption Next publicationKumtor has donated four and a half thousand New Year presents to children of Issyk-Kul Province and Bishkek
© 2011-2022 "Kumtor Gold Company." Copying of materials is possible only with written permission.

Проект подземной разработки рудника «Кумтор»

Опубликовано: 27 December 2021

В период временного внешнего управления в ЗАО «Кумтор Голд Компани» (КГК) для прекращения разрушения ледников и добычи золотосодержащей руды более экологическим и экономически выгодным способом была изменена стратегия развития месторождения «Кумтор» с постепенным переходом от открытой добычи руды карьерным способом к запуску проекта подземной разработки.

Добыча подземным способом позволит Кыргызстану значительно уменьшить ущерб окружающей среде и отказаться от нерациональной добычи полезных ископаемых. Во время управления канадской компанией «Центерра Голд», разработка рудника велась открытым способом. В итоге для добычи 1 тонны золотосодержащей руды приходится попутно извлекать от 41 до 60 тонн пустой породы. По данному показателю КГК находится на 1-м месте в мире среди горнорудных компаний. Обычный среднемировой показатель коэффициента вскрыши колеблется о 2-х до 7-ми тонн пустой породы на 1 тонну руды. Для примера, на руднике «Озгут» в Турции этот показатель равен 1 к 2-м, а на руднике «Маунт Миллиган» в Канаде — 1 к 1-му. Оба эксплуатируемых предприятия принадлежат «Центерра Голд». Экологические требования в Канаде и Турции не позволяют горнорудным компаниям хищническую добычу полезных ископаемых на своих территориях.

Подземная добыча направлена на более селективное извлечение золотосодержащих руд с очень низким коэффициентом вскрыши: 1 к 2-м или максимум 1 к 3-м. По предварительным данным, содержание золота в подземных рудах «Кумтора» более 5 граммов на тонну, то есть почти в два раза выше, чем при добыче открытым способом. Ожидаемая общая себестоимость добычи руды подземным способом будет ниже, чем нынешняя, несмотря на более высокие операционные затраты при подземной добыче.

Отметим, что проект подземной добычи руд в планах КГК был и начал реализовываться с 2008 по 2012 годы, но затем был остановлен. Хотя на это было потрачено порядка 180 миллионов долларов.

Для осуществления проекта по подземной добыче золотосодержащей руды, в КГК создан новый проектный отдел. В настоящее время продолжается его формирование высококлассными иностранными и местными специалистами.

Предыдущая публикацияНа золотоизвлекательной фабрике рудника «Кумтор» изменена технологическая схема с целью повышения количества извлекаемого золота и снижения расхода реагентов Следующая публикация«Кумтор» подарил детям Иссык-Кульской области и города Бишкек четыре с половиной тысячи новогодних подарков
© 2011-2022 «Кумтор Голд Компани». Копирование материалов возможно только с письменного разрешения администрации.