Centerra Gold Inc. (Centerra) and Kumtor Gold Company (KGC) have summed up their operating results in the third quarter of 2017. In the first nine months of 2017, KGC produced 404,584 ounces¹ or 12,583.98 kg of gold and contributed more than 6.8 billion soms in taxes and mandatory payments.

Gold Production and Sales

During the third quarter of 2017, Kumtor produced 138,561 ounces of gold compared to 166,030 ounces of gold in the comparative period of 2016.
Gold sales in the third quarter of 2017 were 99,514 ounces, or 3.10 tonnes. Total revenues from gold sales in the third quarter of 2017 were $124.3 million2.

The Dore bars produced by the Kumtor mine are purchased by Kyrgyzaltyn JSC for processing at the Kara-Balta refinery pursuant to a Gold and Silver Sales Agreement signed by KGC, Kyrgyzaltyn and the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic. Kyrgyzaltyn JSC enjoys the exclusive right to sell refined gold and silver both in and outside the Kyrgyz Republic.

Operating costs and All-in Measures:

Operating costs (on a sales basis) for the third quarter of 2017 decreased by $18.5 million to $26.7 million, as compared to the same quarter of 2017, reflecting 41% more tonnage moved including significant amount of waste removal in cut-back 18 of the Central pit which was capitalized in the third quarter of 2017. Including capitalized stripping, operating costs were $57.5 million compared to $83.9 million in the comparative third quarter of 2016. The increase in the major components of operating costs (mining, milling and site support) before changes in inventory is explained below.

Mining costs, including capitalized stripping, totaled $49.2 million in the third quarter of 2017, which was $4.7 million higher than the comparative quarter of 2016. Increased costs for the third quarter of 2017includes higher diesel costs ($1.8 million) mainly due to increased purchase price, higher blasting costs ($1.3 million) primarily due to increased blasting volumes, higher labour cost ($1.2 million) due to a new collective bargaining agreement and strengthening of the local currency. In addition higher maintenance cost ($0.7 million) resulted from additional repair work required on the 785 haul trucks.

Milling costs increased to $19.5 million in the third quarter of 2017, as compared to $16.1 million in the comparative quarter of 2016. The higher milling costs were due to comprehensive maintenance work during the planned total shutdown for the SAG, ball and regrind mills liners performed during the third quarter of 2017, whereas only SAG mill reline work occurred in the comparative period in 2016. During the shutdown, Kumtor took the opportunity to replace other mill components to boilers, derrick screens, and on the crusher.

Site support costs in the third quarter of 2017 totaled $10.5 million compared to $10.1 million in the comparative quarter in 2016. Site support costs increased slightly due to higher contractors costs for a major site clean-up initiative.

Other Cost movements:

DD&A associated with sales, decreased to $27.8 million in the third quarter of 2017, from $51.3 million in the comparative quarter of 2016, a 46% decrease. The decrease in 2017 is primarily due to 40% fewer ounces sold in the third quarter of 2017.

All-in sustaining costs on a by-product basis per ounce sold, which excludes revenue-based tax, was $807 for the third quarter of 2017 compared to $555 in the third quarter of 2016, representing an increase of 45%, primarily as a result of 40% fewer ounces sold. The third quarter of 2017 also includes the new environmental fee ($2.0 million accrued not yet paid) for the Nature Development Fund as a result of the comprehensive settlement agreement reached with the Kyrgyz Republic Government (impact $20 per ounce). Including revenue-based taxes, all-in sustaining costs on a by-product basis per ounce sold was $983 for the third quarter of 2017 compared to $742 in the same period of 2016. The increase is due to the higher all-in sustaining costs.

Operating Results of the Kumtor Project

 

Unaudited ($ millions, except as noted) Three Months Ended June 30 Six Months Ended June 30
2017 2016 % Change 2017 2016 % Change
Revenue from gold sales to Kyrgyzaltyn – $ millions2 124.3 218.7 (43%) 457.1 452 1%
Cost of sales – $millions 54.5 96.5 (44%) 207.1 244.4 (15%)
Cost of sales – $/oz sold 548 585 (6%) 561 689 (19%)
Tonnes mined – 000s 49,251 34,838 41% 131,108 108,856 20%
Tonnes ore mined – 000s 2,465 3,970 (38%) 2,477 8,687 (71%)
Tonnes milled – 000s 1,505 1,571 (4%) 4,578 4,722 (3%)
Average mill head grade – g/t 3.47 4.11 (16%) 3.51 3.01 17%
Mill Recovery – % 80.50% 81.40% (1%) 78.60% 77.00% 2%
Gold produced – ounces1 138,561 166,030 (17%) 404,584 350,199 16%
Gold produced – kg 4309.73 5164.11 (17%) 12,583.98 10,892.41 16%
Gold sold – ounces1 99,514 164,847 (40%) 369,431 354,500 4%
Gold sold – kg 3095.23 5127.32 (40%) 11,490.60 11,026.19 4%
Average realized gold price4$/oz sold 1,249 1,327 (6%) 1,237 1,275 (3%)
Capital expenditures (sustaining)4 cash 15.5 13 19% 44.2 49.6 (11%)
Capital expenditures (growth)4 –  cash 5.2 3.2 63% 11 13.3 (17%)
Capital expenditures (stripping)4 cash 30.8 38.7 (20%) 125 78.4 59%
Operating costs (on a sales basis)4  – $/oz sold 268 274 (2%) 274 350 (22%)
Adjusted operating costs4$/oz sold 338 303 11% 321 390 (18%)
Gold – All-in sustaining costs on a by-product basis – $/oz sold4 807 555 45% 782 695 12%

1 – One Troy ounce equals to 31.103 48 grammes.
2 – Unless specified otherwise, all dollar figures in this news release are in US dollars.
3 – Numbers may not add up due to rounding
4 – Adjusted operating costs, all-in sustaining costs on a by-product basis (including and excluding taxes), cash provided by operations before changes in working capital, as well as average realized gold price per ounce sold and capital expenditures (sustaining and growth) are non-GAAP measures and are discussed under “Non-GAAP Measures”.

Payments to the Kyrgyz National Budget and Mandatory Contributions

During the third quarter of 2017, contributions to the national budget in taxes, deductions to the Social Fund and other mandatory payments have totaled 2 billion soms.

Kumtor’s Contributions in Taxes and Mandatory Payments for the First Nine Months of 2017

  USD*
Q1 2017 Q2 2017 Q3 2017
Gross Proceeds Tax  23,168,141  27,041,241  22,671,153
Issyk-Kul Development Fund  1,389,468  2,472,792  1,743,935
Pollution tax  310,000  –  –
Employee Income tax  1,245,567  1,173,336  987,757
Social Insurance Fund  5,673,426  4,984,932  4,811,394
Customs  148,828  139,379  95,362
Tax on nonresident companies  168,592  152,640  84,533
Other taxes and mandatory payments  114,487  236,483  62,131
Total  32,218,509  36,200,803  30,456,265
US$ official exchange rate to the Kyrgyz Soms as of end of Quarter  68.6069  69.1367  68.6585
Equivalent of payments effected in Kyrgyz Soms  2,210,412,018  2,502,804,052  2,091,081,501

* – Numbers may not add up due to rounding

Note: Under the Agreement on New Terms dated as of April 24, 2009, the revenue-based tax and contributions to the Issyk-Kul Region Development Fund are estimated based on actual cash revenues from sales during the period under review.

Commentary

Commentary
Scott Perry CEO of Centerra Gold stated, “During the third quarter both of our operating sites completed the deployment of our Company-wide safety leadership program “Work Safe, Home Safe” with every employee. For the rest of the year we will continue to deploy the program at the balance of our sites, so that by year-end every Centerra employee will have received training.”
“In the quarter, we achieved an important milestone when we reached a comprehensive settlement agreement with the Government of the Kyrgyz Republic to resolve all of the outstanding matters affecting the Kumtor Project. The settlement provides for the lifting of all restrictions on the freedom of movement of Kumtor employees as well as the restrictions on the ability of Kumtor to distribute funds to Centerra. The agreement also provides business certainty for future mining operations at the Kumtor Project, as it preserves all rights of Centerra and Kumtor under the Kumtor Project Agreements.”

***
The Kumtor open pit mine, located in the Kyrgyz Republic, is the largest gold mine in Central Asia operated by a Western-based producer. It has been operating since May 1997 and, as of September 30, 2017, has produced approximately 11.389 million ounces or 354.257 tonnes of gold.

Kumtor Gold Company is the operator of the Kumtor Project responsible for the entire production cycle.

Centerra Gold Inc. is a Canadian-based gold mining company focused on operating, developing, exploring and acquiring gold properties in North America, Asia and other markets worldwide. Centerra is a leading Canadian-based gold producer and is one of the largest Western-based gold producers in Central Asia. Centerra’s principal operations are the Kumtor Project located in the Kyrgyz Republic and the Mount Milligan Mine located in British Columbia, Canada.
Centerra’s shares trade on the Toronto Stock Exchange (TSX) under the symbol CG. The Company is headquartered in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.

The Kyrgyz Republic, via Kyrgyzaltyn JSC, is Centerra’s largest shareholder owning 77,401,766 shares as of November 16, 2017, Kyrgyzstan’s interests were estimated at $ 454 million.

Additional information on Centerra and the full text of the news release on the results of the third quarter of 2017 are available on SEDAR at www.sedar.com and the corporate websites at www.centerragold.com and www.kumtor.kg.

Компания Centerra Gold Inc. («Центерра») и компания «Кумтор» подвели итоги работы в третьем квартале 2017 года. За девять месяцев текущего года на «Кумторе» произведено 404 584 унции¹ или 12 583,98 кг золота. С начала года компания перечислила налогов и обязательных платежей на сумму более 6,8 миллиарда сомов.

Производство и реализация золота

В третьем квартале 2017 г. на Кумторе было произведено 138 561 унций золота, а за тот же период 2016 г. объём производства составил 166 030 унции.
В третьем квартале 2017 г. было реализовано 99 514 унций, или 3,1 тонны золота. Общий доход от реализации золота в третьем квартале 2017 г. составил 124,3 млн долларов2.

Слитки Доре, производимые на руднике «Кумтор», закупаются ОАО «Кыргызалтын» для дальнейшей переработки на аффинажном предприятии в г. Кара-Балте, как это предусмотрено Договором о продаже золота и серебра, заключенным между «Кумтор Голд Компани», ОАО «Кыргызалтын» и Правительством Кыргызской Республики. Исключительным правом реализации аффинированного золота и серебра в Кыргызской Республике и за ее пределами обладает только ОАО «Кыргызалтын».

Операционные расходы и другие важные показатели:

Операционные расходы (по итогам данных реализации) в третьем квартале 2017 г. снизились по сравнению с тем же периодом 2016 г. на 18,5 млн долларов, составив 26,7 млн долларов. Это говорит о росте общего объёма перемещённой породы на 41%, включая значительный объём удалённых отходов, на рабочем участке № 18 в центральной части карьера, капитализированном в третьем квартале 2017 г. Включая капитализацию вскрышных работ, операционные расходы составили 57,5 млн долларов против 83,9 млн долларов в третьем квартале 2016 г. Ниже приводится разъяснение причин роста расходов по главным составляющим операционных расходов (горные работы, фабричная переработка и обслуживание территории рудника), показанным до внесения изменений в запасы материальных оборотных средств.

Расходы на производство горных работ, включая капитализацию вскрышных работ, в третьем квартале 2017 г. составили в целом 49,2 млн долларов, что на 4,7 млн долларов больше, чем в том же квартале 2016 г. Указанный рост вызван увеличившимися расходами на закупку дизельного топлива (1,8 млн долларов), что связано главным образом с ростом закупочных цен; увеличением расходов на производство взрывных работ (1,3 млн долларов) в основном в связи с расширением объёма взрывных работ; увеличением расходов на оплату труда (1,2 млн долларов) в связи с заключением нового коллективного договора и укреплением курса местной валюты. Кроме того, возросли и расходы на производство ремонтных работ (0,7 млн долларов) в результате необходимости дополнительного ремонта 785 грузовиков.

Возросли в третьем квартале 2017 г. и расходы на фабричную переработку, составив 19,5 млн долларов, тогда как в аналогичном квартале 2016 г. они составляли 16,1 млн долларов. Указанный рост вызван необходимостью проведения общего ремонта футеровок мельницы полусамоизмельчения, шаровой мельницы и мельницы доизмельчения во время планового останова фабрики в третьем квартале 2017 г., тогда как в том же квартале 2016 г. производилась лишь замена футеровок мельницы полусамоизмельчения. Компания воспользовалась предоставленным случаем, чтобы во время останова фабрики заменить и другие детали в паровых котлах, грохотах и в дробилке.

Расходы на обслуживание территории рудника в третьем квартале 2017 г. составили в целом 10,5 млн долларов против 10,1 млн долларов в том же квартале 2016 г. Указанные расходы незначительно возросли за счёт более высоких расценок, представленных контрактными организациями за работу по общей очистке территории рудника.

Динамика прочих расходов:

В третьем квартале 2017 г. отчисления на износ, истощение и амортизацию, связанные с реализацией продукции, сократились до 27,8 млн долларов, то есть на 46% по сравнению с тем же периодом 2016 г., когда они составляли 51,3 млн долларов. Указанное сокращение в основном связано со снижением на 40% объёма реализации продукции в третьем квартале 2017 г.
Совокупные расходы на поддержание основных фондов из расчёта побочного продукта и в перерасчёте на унцию реализованной продукции, куда не входит налог на валовой доход, составили в третьем квартале 2017 г. 807 долларов, тогда как в третьем квартале 2016 г. они составляли 555 долларов, то есть увеличились на 45% в основном в связи со снижением на 40% объёма реализации продукции. В показатели третьего квартала включён также новый экологический сбор (2,0 млн долларов уже накопленных, но ещё не выплаченных средств) в пользу Фонда по развитию природы в рамках соглашения по окончательному урегулированию разногласий, достигнутому с Кыргызской Республикой (20 долларов на унцию). Совокупные расходы на поддержание основных фондов из расчёта побочного продукта и в перерасчёте на унцию реализованной продукции, куда входит налог на валовой доход, составили в третьем квартале 2017 г. 983 доллара против 742 долларов в том же квартале 2016 г. Это увеличение связано с ростом совокупных расходов на поддержание основных фондов.

Производственные показатели по проекту Кумтор

 

III квартал, на 30 сентября 9 месяцев, на 30 сентября
2017 2016 Изменения, в % 2017 2016 Изменения, в %
Общая выручка от реализации золота «Кыргызалтыну» (в млн.USD) 124,3 218,7 (42%) 457,1 452 1%
Себестоимость реализованной продукции4 (в млн.USD) 54,5 96,5 (44%) 207,1 244,4 (15%)
Себестоимость реализованной продукции4 (в USD за унцию) 548 585 (6%) 561 689 (19%)
Объем горных работ (тыс. тонн) 49 251 34 838 23% 131 108 108 856 20%
Объем добытой руды (тыс. тонн) 2 465 3 970 (38%) 2 477 8 687 (71%)
Объем переработанной руды (тыс. тонн) 1 505 1 571 (4%) 4 578 4 722 (3%)
Среднее содержание золота в руде, подаваемой на фабрику (г/т) 3,47 4,11 (16)% 3,51 3,01 17%
Коэффициент извлечения золота (в процентах) 80,50% 81,40% 1% 78,6% 77,00% 2%
Произведено золота (в унциях)1 138 561 166 030 (17%) 404 584 350 199 16%
Произведено золота (в кг) 4 309,73 5 164,11 (17%) 12 583,98 10 892,41 16%
Реализовано золота (в унциях)1 99 514 164 847 (40%) 369 431 354 500 4%
Реализовано золота (в кг) 3 095,23 5 127,32 (40%) 11 490,60 11 026,19 4%
Средняя цена реализации4 (в USD за унцию) 1 249 1 327 (6%) 1 237 1 275 (3%)
Капитальные затраты (на поддержание основных фондов)4 (в млн USD) 15,5 13 19% 44,2 49,6 (11%)
Капитальные затраты (на развитие)4 (в млн USD) 5,2 3,2 63% 11 13,3 (17%)
Капитальные затраты (на вскрышные работы)4 (в млн USD) 30,8 38,7 (20%) 125 78,4 59%
Операционные затраты (на основе продаж)4 268 274 (2%) 274 350 (22%)
Скорректированные операционные затраты4 (в USD за унцию) 338 303 11% 321 390 (18%)
Совокупные затраты на поддержание производства4 USD за проданную унцию) 807 555 45% 782 695 12%

1 – Для справки: тройская унция = 31,10348 грамм.
2 – Все денежные суммы, если не указано иное, приведены в долларах США.
3 – Из-за округления суммы могут не складываться
4 – Скорректированные операционные расходы, совокупные расходы на поддержание производства, совокупные расходы с учетом и без учета налогов (в миллионах долларов и в перерасчёте на унцию), так же как средняя цена реализации в пересчете на унцию реализованной продукции и капитальные затраты (на поддержание основных фондов и развитие) не являются показателями Общепринятых принципов бухучета.

Платежи в бюджет Кыргызской Республики и обязательные отчисления

В третьем квартале 2017 года платежи в бюджет Кыргызской Республики в виде налогов, отчислений в Социальный фонд Кыргызской Республики и других обязательных платежей составили более 2 миллиардов сомов.

Вклад Кумтора в виде налогов и обязательных платежей за девять месяцев 2017

  В  долларах США *
1 квартал 2017 2 квартал 2017 3 квартал  2017
Налог на валовой доход  23 168 141  27 041 241  22 671 153
Взнос в Фонд развития Иссык-Кульской области  1 389 468  2 472 792  1 743 935
Экологический платеж  310 000  –  –
Подоходный налог с сотрудников  1 245 567  1 173 336  987 757
Платежи в Социальный фонд КР  5 673 426  4 984 932  4 811 394
Таможенные платежи  148 828  139 379  95 362
Налог на доходы нерезидентов  168 592  152 640  84 533
Прочие налоги и обязательные отчисления  114 487  236 483  62 131
Итого  32 218 509  36 200 803  30 456 265
Официальный курс доллара США к сому КР на конец квартала.  68,6069  69,1367  68,6585
Эквивалент уплаченных платежей в сомах  2 210 412 018  2 502 804 052  2 091 081 501

*Из-за округления суммы могут не складываться  

Примечание: Базой для расчета налога на валовой доход и взносов в Фонд развития Иссык-Кульской области в соответствии с Соглашением о новых условиях по проекту «Кумтор» от 24 апреля 2009 г. являются фактические денежные поступления от реализации продукции за указанный период.

***

Рудник «Кумтор», расположенный в Кыргызской Республике, является крупнейшим золоторудным предприятием Центральной Азии, управляемым западной компанией. Всего, с начала промышленного производства в мае 1997 года по 30 сентября 2017 года, на Кумторе произведено порядка 11,389 млн унций или 354,257 тонн золота.

 «Кумтор Голд Компани» несет отвественность за весь производственный цикл как оператор проекта «Кумтор».

Centerra Gold Inc. является канадской золотодобывающей компанией, которая занимается эксплуатацией, разработкой, разведкой и приобретением золоторудных месторождений в Азии, Северной Америке и других рынках мира. Центерра является крупнейшей западной компанией – золотопроизводителем в Центральной Азии. Акции «Центерры» обращаются на Фондовой бирже Торонто (TSX) под символом CG. Штаб-квартира компании располагается в городе Торонто, провинция Онтарио, Канада.

Кыргызская Республика, через ОАО «Кыргызалтын» является держателем самого крупного пакета акций «Центерры» – 77 401 766 акций. На 16 ноября 2017 г. стоимость пакета акций Кыргызстана превысила 454 млн долларов.

Дополнительная информация о Центерре и полный текст пресс-релиза по итогам третьего квартала 2017 года доступна на сайте SEDAR www.sedar.com и на корпоративных сайтах www.centerragold.com и www.kumtor.kg