For the 2015-2016 academic school year, 106 applications were received, from which, after review, 23 Scholarships were approved and awarded by KGC. Eleven of the selected students study at Technical School #91 after which they will attain a diploma in the specialty of Cook/Baker and 12 students study at Technical School #27 after which they will attain a diploma in the specialty of Auto Mechanic.

One of the Kumtor Gold Company’s main stakeholders in the Kyrgyz Republic is Youth and through it’s CSR focus and programs, KGC is committed to developing the next generation of young people by providing opportunities for students to pursue their post-secondary education goals and providing a foundation for future career growth.

The Regional Scholarship Program was introduced 15 years ago and since that time has been well received by the regional stakeholders with 141 scholarships awarded to applicants from Djety-Oguz, Ak-Suu, Ton and Balykchy. The selected students attend Technical Schools in Bishkek under full scholarship that includes tuition, accommodations, meals and a monthly stipend.

The cost of this initiative for 2015-2016 is approximately 2.9 million soms with more than an estimated 20 million soms invested in this program since inception in 2000. The program has grown significantly since inception in 2000, where 4 scholarship were awarded to this year where 23 scholarships have been awarded.

“The Scholarship Program is very popular in the region with the local youth which is apparent by the large number of applications received each year and has been a huge success story for the students and Kumtor Gold Company” said Norm Bobocel.

На 2015-2016 учебный год было получено 106 заявок. Из них в качестве стипендиатов КГК было отобрано 23 человека. 11 из них уже приступили к учёбе в лицее № 91 и после прохождения курса обучения получат диплом по специальности повар/пекарь, а 12 человек учатся в лицее № 27 по специальности “автомеханик”.

Молодёжь является одной из главных заинтересованных сторон в деятельности Кумтор Голд Компани в Кыргызской Республике, и поэтому в своих программах корпоративной социальной ответственности КГК стремится обеспечить профессиональный рост молодого поколения, открыв для него возможность реализовать себя после завершения школьного образования и заложить фундамент для дальнейшей профессиональной деятельности.

Региональная программа стипендий была внедрена 15 лет назад и с тех пор получила признание среди местного населения, ведь за это время молодым людям из Джети-Огузского, Ак-Суйского, Тонского районов и города Балыкчи была предоставлена 141 стипендия. Стипендиаты компании проходят обучение в лицеях Бишкека, и при этом компания оплачивает в полном объёме стоимость их обучения, проживания в общежитии, питания и выплачивает им ежемесячную стипендию.

На реализацию этой программы в 2015-2016 году компанией выделено около 2,9 миллиона сомов, при этом за время, прошедшее с начала её реализации в 2000 году, компанией было затрачено порядка 20 миллионов сомов. По сравнению с 2000 годом, когда было выделено всего 4 стипендии, программа значительно расширилась, и в этом году она включает в себя уже 23 стипендиата.

“Программа стипендий пользуется большим успехом у всей молодёжи региона, о чём свидетельствует и тот поток заявок, которые мы ежегодно получаем. Действительно, ребята как будто получают от Кумтор Голд Компани золотой ключик к успеху в жизни,” – отмечает Норм Бобосел.