The value shares Centerra Gold Inc. on the Toronto Stock on 08.05.2021: 6.92 USD Value of Kyrgyzstan's shares in Centerra Gold Inc. : 535 620 220 USD

Kumtor Provides Aid to Jety-Oguz Farmers

published: 10 April 2021

Kumtor awarded 5 million soms in financial aid to implement a project encouraging Jety-Oguz farmers to grow wheat. These funds were used to purchase 170 tonnes of winter wheat seeds (Bezostaya primary seeds). As a result, the seeds were distributed to a total of 34 groups, 5 to 10 farmers in each, in each of 19 villages of Jety-Oguz district. The seeds return terms are based on the ratio of 1 to 1.5. For example, if you borrowed 1 tonne you are expected to return 1.5 tonnes. Having received the seeds, the farmers sowed nearly 570 hectares of arable land.

“70% of residents in our region are engaged in farming. They haven’t grown wheat that much until recently. When the food security question arose last year and one bag of flour would be sold for 2,000 soms, their interest in wheat growing increased significantly. The pandemic caused a wheat growing boom. They decided they would be far better off producing wheat themselves than buying it from their neighbors,” comments Keneshbek Duishembiyev, Regional representative, KGC.

“The Kumtor project is a great support for our farmers. Quality seeds are in short supply now in Kyrgyzstan. Previously, we used to sow the Kazakhstan-10 wheat. Yet, there were high losses during harvesting. The Bezostaya wheat is much better,” says Syrgak Aliyev, a project participant living in the village of Kyzyl-Suu, Jety-Oguz district. All in all, his group of five farmers sowed 29 hectares of land.

Meanwhile, the project was included in the microcrediting program. The microcrediting agency “Jety-Oguz”, founded by Kumtor in 2006, provides credits at an interest rate of 10% for purchasing Diesel fuel, fertilizers and meeting other expenses relating to seeding and next harvesting. Thus, one of the farmer groups borrowed 8.6 tonnes of seeds and 176,000 soms in a loan.

Apart from settling the problem of food security, this project is expected to have economic effects.

“Kumtor decided to support local farmers by providing them with quality wheat seeds. Next fall, we expect to produce 1.5 tonnes of wheat. It’s a good initiative towards making the region self-sufficient in what regards food security. The farmers will be able to provide themselves with seeds for the next year, this becoming their additional source of income,” says Keneshbek Duishembiyev, Regional representative, KGC.

Previous publicationWaste Sorting Plant Operating in Balykchi Next publicationCenterra Gold to List Common Shares on New York Stock Exchange
The value shares Centerra Gold Inc. on the Toronto Stock on 08.05.2021: 6.92 USD USD Value of Kyrgyzstan's shares in Centerra Gold Inc. : 535 620 220 USD
© 2011-2021 "Kumtor Gold Company." Copying of materials is possible only with written permission.

Стоимость акций Centerra Gold Inc. на бирже в Торонто на 08.05.2021: 6.92 USD Стоимость доли акций КР в Centerra Gold Inc.: 535 620 220 USD

«Кумтор» помогает фермерам Джети-Огуза

Опубликовано: 10 April 2021

«Кумтор Голд Компани» выделил грант в 5 миллионов сомов на реализацию проекта по стимулированию фермеров Джети-Огузского района к посевам пшеницы. На эти средства было закуплено 170 тонн семян озимого сорта пшеницы «Безостая» первой репродукции. В результате семена получили 34 фермерские группы по 5-10 человек в каждой из 19 сел Джети-Огузского района. Условия возврата зерна — 1 к 1,5. Условно, взял тонну, верни полторы. Получив семена, аграрии засеяли почти 570 гектаров пахотных земель.

— 70% населения нашего региона занимаются сельским хозяйством. До недавних пор пшеницу у нас сеяли в малом количестве. Когда в прошлом году встал вопрос продовольственной безопасности, а мешок муки продавали за две тысячи сомов, интерес к посевам пшеницы возрос. Пандемия вызвала бум на посевы пшеницы. Чем покупать продукцию у соседних стран, лучше производить самим, — рассуждает Талант Жапаров, председатель правления общественного фонда «Агентство развития региона», который выступил реализатором проекта.

— Для наших фермеров проект «Кумтора» является большим подспорьем. Качественных семян в Кыргызстане сейчас мало. Раньше мы сеяли сорт пшеницы «Казахстан-10». При уборке было очень много потерь. Сорт «Безостая» гораздо лучше, — считает участник проекта, фермер Сыргак Алиев из села Кызыл-Суу Джети-Огузского района. В общей сложности группа Сыргака Алиева из пяти человек засеяла 29 гектаров земли.

Помимо этого, проект получил сопровождение по линии микрокредитования. Основанное «Кумтором» в 2006 году микрокредитное агентство «Джети-Огуз» выдает участникам программы кредиты под 10% годовых на покупку солярки, удобрений и сопутствующие расходы, связанные с посевными работами и предстоящей уборкой урожая. К примеру, одна из фермерских групп взяла 8,6 тонн семян и 176 тысяч сом в качестве займа.

Помимо решения вопроса продовольственной безопасности, реализация данного проекта должна принести экономический эффект.

— «Кумтор» решил поддержать местных фермеров, предоставив им качественные семена пшеницы. Осенью ожидаем примерно полторы тысячи тонн урожая. Это хорошее начинание по снабжению района собственной продукцией. Аграрии смогут обеспечить себя семенным материалом на следующий год и получат дополнительный источник дохода, — отмечает региональный представитель «Кумтор Голд Компани» Кенешбек Дуйшембиев.

Предыдущая публикацияВ городе Балыкчи действует мусоросортировочный комплекс Следующая публикация«Центерра Голд Инк. » объявила о листинге своих акций на Нью-Йоркской фондовой бирже
Стоимость акций Centerra Gold Inc. на бирже в Торонто на 08.05.2021: 6.92 USD Стоимость доли акций КР в Centerra Gold Inc.: 535 620 220 USD
© 2011-2021 «Кумтор Голд Компани». Копирование материалов возможно только с письменного разрешения администрации.