Residents of one of the yards in Bishkek microdistrict “Jal” have successfully introduced the separate waste collection. This has become possible within the separate waste collection project “Uch Chaka / Three Bins,” implemented by the Inon Public Foundation with the financial support of the Small Grants Program of the US Embassy in the Kyrgyz Republic and technical assistance of Kumtor Gold Company.

The yard residents now divide their waste into four categories: plastic, waste paper, hazardous and food waste. Plastic and paper waste are sent to the local recycling plants. Hazardous waste is collected into a special container. All food waste is put on a daily basis into the plant, which produces compost (fertilizer) within 5 days. The plant is hermetically sealed and does not produce any bad odor. The compost is used for landscape gardening of the yard.

The waste recycling and composting system helped the yard residents learn how to correctly sort the waste into four categories. Most importantly, this will reduce the amount of waste sent to the landfill and thus will contribute to the preservation of the environment.

Volunteers organized an environmental school for children of the yard residents. Owing to the support of the gold mining company, the residents had the opportunity to visit the municipal landfill, as well as to see with their own eyes the waste recycling processes at the local garbage recycling plant, which also cooperates with Kumtor and recycles part of its mine waste. Children had the opportunity to pull up their English, learn the acting skills, as well as to master the basics of creating various goods from recyclable materials.

In addition, KGC representative brought gifts for small participants of the project – “busy boards,” i.e. developing boards for preschool children. “I am very glad that there are such communities in Bishkek, which support environmental trends and give the environmental education to the children. I was pleasantly surprised when I learnt about this project, and I hope that in the future there will be even more communities that will continue this important activity. Thank you all for thinking about our environment and nature,” Kumtor’s Environmental Projects Manager Olga Medoeva said.

Жильцы одного из дворов столичного микрорайона «Джал» успешно внедрили раздельный сбор отходов. Это стало возможным в рамках проекта по раздельному сбору отходов «Үч чака / Три ведра», реализуемого Общественным фондом «Инон» при финансовой поддержке программы малых грантов посольства США в Кыргызской Республике и технической помощи «Кумтор Голд Компани».

Жильцы двора теперь разделяют отходы на четыре категории – пластик, макулатуру, опасные и пищевые отходы. Пластик и макулатура сдаются в местные перерабатывающие предприятия. Опасные отходы собирают в специальную тару. Все пищевые отходы на ежедневной основе отправляются на установку, которая производит компост (удобрение) в течение 5 дней. Установка полностью герметична и не производит неприятного запаха. Компост используется для озеленения территории двора.

Система по переработке отходов и получению компоста позволила жильцам научиться правильной сортировке отходов на четыре категории. Что самое важное, это позволит сократить объемы отходов, отправляемых на свалку и тем самым внести свой вклад в сохранении окружающей среды.

С помощью добровольцев для детей жильцов двора была организована экологическая школа. При поддержке золотодобывающей компании жильцы имели возможность посетить городскую свалку, а также ознакомиться с процессами переработки отходов на местном предприятии, которое также сотрудничает с «Кумтором» и перерабатывает часть отходов с рудника. У детей была возможность подтянуть английский язык, научиться навыкам актерского мастерства, а также освоить азы создания различных изделий из вторичного сырья.

В подарок маленьким участникам проекта представитель КГК привезла бизиборды – развивающие доски для детей дошкольного возраста. «Я очень рада, что в Бишкеке есть такие сообщества, которые поддерживают экологические направления и занимаются экологическим воспитанием детей. Я была приятно удивлена, узнав об этом проекте, и надеюсь, что в будущем появится еще больше сообществ, которые продолжат важное дело. Спасибо вам за то, что думаете о нашей экологии и природе», – отметила Ольга Медоева, менеджер по экологическим проектам «Кумтора».