Two daily runoff ponds (DRP), a water reservoir, a water settling pond and eight ditches have been cleared with the support of Kumtor Gold Company before the start of irrigation works in Jety-Oguz and Ton regions. The total budget of earthworks to be held at 12 sites in 2016 has amounted to about KGS 14 million.

This is not the first project of Kumtor Gold Company aimed at restoration and rehabilitation of irrigation infrastructure in the region. As recently as last year, four daily runoff ponds and a water reservoir were cleared with the support of Kumtor. The mechanical earth moving in water reservoirs and ditches is held by local contractors, and the heavy equipment is provided by the Kumtor mine.

This year, the authorities of Ton region and representatives of Issyk-Kul oblast have decided to continue cleaning the large water reservoir in Tort-Kul village, and the company took a decision to support them. According to the local farmers, continuation of the water reservoir cleaning is the most optimal solution for supplying the most arid part of the region with irrigation water. The reservoir can provide water to 3,743 hectares of land. Owing to the earthworks, 125,000 cubic meters of soil have been cleared away this year. According to the arrangements reached with the local authorities and representatives of villages receiving irrigation water from the reservoir, earth-moving works will be continued in 2017.

The company has cleared daily runoff ponds and water settling ponds in Ak-Oston and Yrdyk villages of Jety-Oguz region and restored ditches in Tosor, Ak Dobo, Yrdyk, Lipenka and Kyzyl-Suu villages. 35,000 cubic meters of silt and soil have been removed from two DRP and water settling ponds in the course of works. And the total length of cleared irrigation ditches has reached 33,370 meters.

“For our company, investments in agriculture are one of the priority areas of support of Issyk-Kul oblast, because most of the local residents are involved in the agricultural sector. We are pleased that our joint efforts help to provide the local farmers with access to irrigation water,” said Aktilek Tungatarov, Kumtor Gold Company’s Director, Sustainable Development.

Два бассейна суточного регулирования (БСР), водохранилище, отстойник и восемь каналов расчищены при поддержке компании «Кумтор» перед началом поливных работ в Джети-Огузском и Тонском районах. Общий бюджет земельных работ на 12 объектах в 2016 году составил около 14 миллионов сомов.

Это не первый проект компании «Кумтор», направленный на восстановление и реабилитацию ирригационной инфраструктуры в регионе. Только в прошлом году при поддержке «Кумтора» было расчищено четыре БСРа и водохранилище. Земельные работы по механической очистке водных резервуаров и каналов проводятся местными подрядными организациями, а задействованная тяжелая техника доставляется с рудника «Кумтор».

В Тонском районе в этом году власти и представители области решили продолжить расчистку крупного водохранилища в селе Торт-Куль и компания пошла им навстречу. По данным тонских аграриев, продолжение работ по расчистке этого водохранилища является наиболее оптимальным решением для обеспечения поливной водой наиболее засушливой части района. Водохранилище способно обеспечить поливом 3,743 га земель. Благодаря проведенным в этом году работам расчищено 125,000 кубических метров грунта. Согласно договоренностям с местными властями и представителями сел, получающих поливную воду из водохранилища, работы по расчистке продолжатся и в 2017 году.

В Джети-Огузском районе расчищены БСРы и отстойник в селах Ан-Остон и Ырдык, а также восстановлены каналы в селах Тосор, Ак Добо, Ырдык, Липенка и Кызыл Суу. В ходе работ с двух БСРов и отстойника было убрано 35 000 кубических метров ила и грунта. А протяженность расчищенных каналов для подачи поливной воды составила 33,370 метров.

«Для нашей компании инвестиции в сельское хозяйство являются одним из приоритетных направлений поддержки Иссык-Кульской области, ведь большинство жителей занято в аграрной сфере. Мы рады тому, что совместными усилиями нам удается обеспечить доступ к поливной воде для местных фермеров», – отметил Актилек Тунгатаров, директор по устойчивому развитию «Кумтор Голд Компани».