A group of Kumtor Gold Company employees visited the Karakol Zoo on April 16 with the aim of assisting its staff to get ready for the summer season. Kumtor employees organized a clean-up event at the Zoo, planted the seedlings, painted and cleaned the cages of animals. The most fearless volunteers helped the administration to feed the animals.

The event was held as part of the intercorporate program “Ambassadors of Kumtor,” which aims to involve employees in the projects funded by the company. Since the program’s start in 2015, the Kumtor employees altogether have spent about 2,000 hours on volunteering, having taken part in more than 40 events.

“For our company, support of environmental projects is one of the four funding priorities within our strategy of overall sustainable development of Issyk-Kul Region. Therefore, when the Karakol Zoo appealed for support, we could not ignore their request, after all it’s the only zoo, operating in the territory of our republic, where visitors can see very rare species of fauna, even those listed in the Red Book. It is very interesting for us to be involved in such projects, because they are joining efforts of many employees rather than only one department of the company,” the HR Department Manager Bolot Asanakunov said.

Recall that Kumtor has been supporting the Zoo during several years, being one of the major sponsors of the only zoo running in the territory of the Kyrgyz Republic. Since 2013, the company’s contribution to the development of the zoo infrastructure and maintaining its life and activities has amounted to almost KGS 7.8 million. In 2016, the company will allocate another KGS 2 million for these purposes. The funds are spent for fortification of the Zoo fence, production of necessary equipment for cages and other administrative needs. At the moment, the Zoo is home to about 140 animals of 35 species.

“The Zoo employs 14 people: it is a small staff and we often do not have time to hold clean-up events. We are grateful to Kumtor employees for supporting us in their day-off and helping to prepare the open-air cage for our new nursling – a lion cub Simba. They have involved their partners from Karakol vocational school No.14, who carried out welding works and fixed the cages of the bear and wild boars. We couldn’t have held such a large-scale clean-up event by our own efforts and completed such a volume of work in a day,” the Zoo Director Saltanat Seyitova noted.

16 апреля 2016 года группа сотрудников компании посетила каракольский зоопарк с целью оказания помощи его работникам в подготовке к летнему сезону. Кумторовцы организовали субботник на территории зоопарка, посадили саженцы, покрасили и расчистили вольеры животных. Самые смелые – помогли администрации покормить питомцев.

Акция была проведена в рамках внутрикорпоративной программы «Послы Кумтора», которая нацелена на вовлечение сотрудников в проекты, финансируемые компанией. С начала запуска этой программы в 2015 году сотрудники совместными усилиями потратили порядка 2 000 часов на волонтерство, приняв участие в более чем 40 акциях.

«Поддержка экологических проектов для нашей компании является одним из четырех приоритетных направлений финансирования в рамках нашей стратегии по комплексному устойчивому развитию Иссык-Кульской области. Поэтому, когда зоопарк обратился с просьбой оказать им поддержку – мы не могли остаться равнодушными – ведь это единственный зоопарк, действующий на территории нашей республики, где посетители могут увидеть весьма редких представителей фауны, даже краснокнижных. Для нас, как для сотрудников, очень интересно вовлекаться в проекты такого рода, потому как они объединяют усилия не только одного отдела компании, но и многих сотрудников», – отметил Болот Асанакунов, руководитель отдела управления персоналом.

Напомним, что «Кумтор» поддерживает зоопарк на протяжении нескольких лет, являясь одним из крупнейших спонсоров единственного действующего на территории республики зоопарка. С 2013 года вклад компании в развитие инфраструктуры зоопарка и поддержание его жизнедеятельности составил порядка 7,8 млн сомов. В 2016 году компания выделит еще около 2 млн. сомов. Выделенные средства направляются на укрепления ограждения зоопарка, изготовление необходимого оборудования для вольеров и прочие административные нужды. На данный момент в зоопарке обитает порядка 140 особей 35 видов животных.

«В зоопарке работает 14 человек – это небольшой штат и зачастую у нас не хватает времени на проведение субботников. Мы благодарны сотрудникам «Кумтора» за то, что в свой выходной день решили оказать нам поддержку в подготовке вольера для нашего нового постояльца – львенка Симбы и привлекли своих партнеров из каракольского профессионального лицея №14 для осуществления сварочных работ в укреплении вольеров медведя и кабанов. Мы не смогли бы провести масштабный субботник своими усилиями и сделать такой объем работ за день», – отметила директор зоопарка Салтанат Сейитова.