Re KGC obligation to perform all reclamation work at the Kumtor mine after the mine closure

published: 08 April 2022

Re “KGC obligation to perform all reclamation work at the Kumtor mine after the mine closure” and “to develop a technical reclamation project in accordance with the Kyrgyz Republic laws on environmental protection and on subsoils, with determination of the amount of funding from the Reclamation Fund for reclamation of the Kumtor project facilities” 

Kumtor Gold Company CJSC (KGC) complies with the environmental legislation requirements in mine closure “including the reclamation of mine facilities” in accordance with the best international practices in the mining industry.

Previously, the Company has developed the Kumtor Mine Closure Plan (MCP) together with international consultants and experts having experience in developing such plans and projects. It includes initial mine closure plan criteria, which were developed during the Feasibility Study period (Reclamation Plan); Revised Conceptual Closure Plan (hereinafter referred to as the “CCP”).

The latest CCP was prepared by SRK in 2019.

KGC will develop a technical reclamation project based on the life of the mine planned until 2031 and will submit a detailed engineering design and mine closure plan to the state regulatory authorities for the state expert review of issues related to construction, industrial safety, and environmental protection.

The cost estimates for the mine closure are developed by internationally recognized experts. Every component of the mine infrastructure is taken into account: open pit, waste dumps, tailings management facility (including water management facilities), as well as decommissioning of other mine infrastructure, short and long-term maintenance, inspections and monitoring of environmental compliance. Standard assumptions, expert opinions, and relevant information are used to estimate the cost of mine closure.

To implement the mine decommissioning project, Kumtor established a Reclamation Trust Fund to conduct reclamation activities at the mine.

In accordance with the Reclamation Trust Fund Agreement, the Company is required to make annual contributions to the Reclamation Trust Fund. This Fund was established by the Company to fund its obligations related to production completion, reclamation and closure of the Kumtor mine. According to the agreement signed on April 4, 2022, control over the reclamation fund in the amount of $53 million will be returned to the Kyrgyz Republic.

As of December 31, 2021, the Reclamation Trust Fund’s balance is US $ 53 million.

Previous publicationJety-Oguz and Ton Districts Received Specialized Vehicles from Kumtor Next publication“Signing of an agreement with Centerra Gold is definitely the most beneficial and the right decision for Kyrgyzstan” - Dmitry Dolmatov, Lawyer
© 2011-2022 "Kumtor Gold Company." Copying of materials is possible only with written permission.

По вопросам об обязанности КГК выполнить все работы по рекультивации

Опубликовано: 08 April 2022

По вопросам «об обязанности КГК выполнить все работы по рекультивации объекта после завершения работ на руднике «Кумтор» и «по разработке технического проекта рекультивации объектов в соответствии с законодательством Кыргызской Республики об охране окружающей среды и о недрах, с определением объема финансовых средств Фонда рекультивации для рекультивации объектов проекта «Кумтор» 

ЗАО «Кумтор Голд Компани» (КГК) соблюдает требования природоохранного законодательства по выводу рудника из эксплуатации «включая рекультивацию объектов рудника» в соответствии с передовым международным опытом в горной промышленности.

Ранее Компания разрабатывала План закрытия рудника «Кумтор» (ПЗР) совместно с международными консультантами и экспертами, имеющими опыт разработки таких планов и проектов. Это включает: критерии первоначального плана закрытия/вывода из эксплуатации, разработанного на стадии ТЭО (План рекультивации); пересмотренный Концептуальный план вывода рудника из эксплуатации (далее — КПВРЭ).

Последний поэтапный КПВРЭ был подготовлен компанией «SRK» в 2019.

КГК разработает технический проект рекультивации на основании запланированного срока эксплуатации рудника до 2031 года, и предоставит подробный инженерный проект и план закрытия рудника в государственные контролирующие органы на экспертизу по вопросам, связанным со строительством, промышленной безопасностью и охраной окружающей среды.

Смета расходов по закрытию рудника составляется привлеченными признанными международными экспертами. Учитывается каждый компонент инфраструктуры рудника: открытый карьер, отвалы пустой породы, хвостовое хозяйство (включая структуры по управлению водными ресурсами), а также вывод из эксплуатации другой инфраструктуры рудника, краткосрочное и долгосрочное обслуживание, инспекции и мониторинг по соблюдению природоохранных норм. При составлении сметы расходов по закрытию рудника применяются стандартные предположения, экспертные мнения и соответствующая информация.

Для реализации проекта по выводу рудника из эксплуатации «Кумтор» создал Трастовый фонд рекультивации для проведения рекультивационных мероприятий на руднике.

В соответствии с Договором об образовании Трастового фонда рекультивации Компания обязана делать ежегодно взносы в Трастовый фонд рекультивации. Данный Фонд был учрежден Компанией для финансирования своих обязательств по завершению производства, рекультивации и выводу из эксплуатации рудника «Кумтор». Согласно заключенному соглашению от 04.04.22 КР будет возвращен контроль над рекультивационным фондом в размере 53 млн долларов.

По состоянию на 31 декабря 2021 года баланс Фонда Рекультивации составляет $53 млн долл. США.

Предыдущая публикацияДжеты-Огузский и Тонский районы получили от «Кумтора» специализированные машины Следующая публикация«Для Кыргызстана подписание соглашения с «Центерра Голд» безусловно самое выгодное и правильное решение», - юрист Дмитрий Долматов
© 2011-2022 «Кумтор Голд Компани». Копирование материалов возможно только с письменного разрешения администрации.