The value shares Centerra Gold Inc. on the Toronto Stock on 30.11.2020: 9.53 USD Value of Kyrgyzstan's shares in Centerra Gold Inc. : 737 638 829 USD

Fauna & Flora International, with support from Kumtor Operating Company, strives to conserve the biodiversity of one of the largest and most unique nature reserves in Kyrgyzstan

published: 18 December 2012

Fauna & Flora International (FFI), a leading international conservation organization, and Kumtor Operating Company have launched a biodiversity project in Issyk-Kul province of the Kyrgyz Republic. The Memorandum of Understanding providing the framework for cooperation between FFI and Kumtor was signed in Bishkek in November 2012.

The proposed project builds on 10 years of collaboration between FFI and the Sarychat-Ertash Nature Reserve (SENR). Between 2002 and 2008 a number of environmental organizations worked closely with SENR to improve the capacity of the reserve and develop a detailed five-year Management Plan, which included measures to maintain the population of the snow leopard. The previous project was funded by the IFC, EBRD and Kumtor Company.

To build on this foundation, and further benefit biodiversity in the region, the SENR Management Plan will be updated in collaboration with all stakeholders, and then formalized at the national level. Activities contemplated in the Plan include scientific research, monitoring of fauna and flora and community outreach. FFI will also provide a series of training sessions for SENR staff and local communities and technical support for the implementation of the Plan. The initial 2012-2013 budget is approximately US $125,000, of which Kumtor will contribute US $70,000.

Michael Fischer, President of Kumtor Operating Company, stated, “Our Company attaches great attention to issues related to occupational safety and the environment. In compliance with the corporate social responsibility and sustainable development principles we will spare no efforts in promoting biodiversity conservation in the Kyrgyz Republic. We are developing our own Biodiversity Management Strategy and Plan which calls for expanded partnerships with local and international conservation organizations. The project we have started in collaboration with Fauna & Flora International is an important component of this work.”
“The growth of the wildlife population as observed in the area adjacent to the mine, which is home to the snow leopard, Marco Polo sheep, and other rare species, can be viewed as an indicator of the success of our environmental programs. I believe consolidated efforts of the Company and FFI will enable us to achieve more success”, – Michael Fischer said.

According to Jarkyn Samanchina, who represents FFI in the Kyrgyz Republic, “Fauna & Flora International is looking forward to continuing our work with protected areas in the Kyrgyz Republic. It is extremely important for us both to receive the Government’s support and to see active involvement of local experts and communities in the implementation of our conservation programs. Kumtor’s support for this the new project exemplifies a positive business approach to corporate social responsibility. The biodiversity conservation and management work in the Sarychat-Ertash Nature Reserve is of critical importance as the Reserve is one of the largest and unique in Kyrgyzstan”.

For Information:

Founded in 1903, Fauna & Flora International (FFI) is the world’s longest established international conservation body. Operating in more than 40 countries worldwide – mainly in the developing world – FFI saves species from extinction and ecosystems from destruction while improving the livelihoods of local people. FFI chooses solutions that are sustainable, based on sound science and take account of human needs. The Kyrgyz State Agency of Environmental Protection recognized FFI’s activities by awarding it with Honorary Diplomas in recognition of its conservation initiatives and achievements in Kyrgyzstan.
___________________________________________________________________________

For more information, please contact:

Lindsey Sandbrook, Communications Officer (Business & Biodiversity)
+44 (0) 1223 431 976, lindsey.sandbrook@fauna-flora.org

Available for Comment:

Ben Ferris, Director, Environment, Kumtor Operating Company, environment@kumtor.com

Previous publicationCENTERRA’S KUMTOR PROJECT RECEIVES ENVIRONMENTAL CLAIMS FROM KYRGYZ AUTHORITIES Next publicationKumtor Operating Company Supports Environmental Educational Action Among Bishkek School Students
The value shares Centerra Gold Inc. on the Toronto Stock on 30.11.2020: 9.53 USD USD Value of Kyrgyzstan's shares in Centerra Gold Inc. : 737 638 829 USD
© 2011-2020 "Kumtor Gold Company." Copying of materials is possible only with written permission.

Стоимость акций Centerra Gold Inc. на бирже в Торонто на 29.10.2020: 8.75 USD Стоимость доли акций КР в Centerra Gold Inc.: 677 265 452 USD

«Фауна и Флора Интернешнл» при поддержке «Кумтора» разрабатывает план по сохранению биоразнообразия одного из самых крупных и уникальных природных заповедников Кыргызстана

Опубликовано: 18 December 2012

Природоохранная организация «Фауна и Флора Интернешнл» и компания «Кумтор» начали реализацию совместного проекта нацеленного на сохранение биоразнообразия в Иссык-Кульской области Кыргызской Республики. Меморандум о взаимопонимании, определяющий рамки сотрудничества между ведущей международной организацией в области охраны окружающей среды и золотодобывающей компанией, подписан в Бишкеке в ноябре текущего года.

Фундаментом совместного проекта по сохранению биоразнообразия стало десятилетнее сотрудничество «Фауна и Флора Интернешнл» (FFI) и Сарычат-Эрташского заповедника. В период с 2002 по 2008 гг. ряд природоохранных организаций уже работал над созданием пятилетнего плана управления заповедником, который включал в себя мероприятия по сохранению популяции снежного барса. Предыдущий проект был профинансирован МФК, ЕБРР и компанией «Кумтор».

В работе над новым планом, направленным на улучшение управления природоохранными мероприятиями в регионе, приняли участие все заинтересованные стороны. Документ будет утверждаться на государственном уровне. Намеченные мероприятия включают в себя проведение исследований, мониторинг состояния флоры и фауны, серию тренингов для администрации заповедника и местных сообществ, а также предусматривает техническую поддержку в реализации самого плана. Первоначальная сумма финансирования на 2012-2013 гг. составила около 125 тыс. долларов, 70 тыс. из которых выделяет компания «Кумтор».

Президент компании «Кумтор» Майкл Фишер отметил: «Наша компания уделяет огромное внимание вопросам промышленной безопасности и охраны окружающей среды. Придерживаясь принципов социальной ответственности и устойчивого развития, мы всячески будем способствовать сохранению и развитию биоразнообразия. В настоящее время мы разрабатываем стратегию и план мероприятий, которые предусматривают расширение сотрудничества, как с местными, так и с международными организациями в области охраны окружающей среды. Совместный проект с «Фауной и Флорой Интернешнл» является важной составляющей данной работы».

«Показателем успешности наших проектов в области охраны окружающей среды служит рост популяции диких животных, наблюдаемый на прилегающих к руднику территориях, которые являются ареалом распространения снежного барса, архара и других редких видов . Консолидация усилий с «Фауной и Флорой Интернешнл», считаю, позволит добиться еще больших успехов», — особо подчеркнул Майкл Фишер.

«В своей деятельности «Фауна и Флора Интернешнл» стремится к сотрудничеству на всех уровнях: для нас важна как поддержка правительства, так и активное участие экспертного сообщества и местного населения в реализации экологических программ. Участие «Кумтора» в новом проекте является хорошим примером ответственного отношения бизнеса к природе. Работа по сохранению биоразнообразия и управления Сарычат-Эрташским заповедником очень важна , тем более, что это один из самых больших и уникальных национальных заповедников на территории Кыргызстана», – подчеркнула представитель природоохранной организации в Кыргызской Республике Жаркын Саманчина.

Для информации:

«Фауна и Флора Интернешнл» (FFI), основанная в 1903 году, является старейшей в мире международной природоохранной организацией, работающей на территории более 40 стран мира. Деятельность организации направлена на защиту исчезающих биологических видов и экосистем, внедрение экологически безопасных методов работы, основанных на данных точной науки. FFI также стремится повысить уровень жизни людей. Государственное агентство по охране окружающей среды Кыргызской Республики отметило деятельность организации присуждением почетного диплома в знак признания ее заслуг в деле охраны окружающей среды на территории Кыргызстана.
___________________________________________________________________________

Для более подробной информации просьба обращаться к:

Линдси Сандбрук, Сотруднику по связям с общественностью (Бизнес и биоразнообразие)
Тел: +44 (0) 1223 431 976, lindsey.sandbrook@fauna-flora.org

Для комментариев доступен:

Бен Феррис, Директор по экологии, «Кумтор Оперейтинг Компани», environment@kumtor.com

Предыдущая публикацияВЛАСТИ КЫРГЫЗСКОЙ РЕСПУБЛИКИ НАПРАВИЛИ КОМПАНИИ "ЦЕНТЕРРА" ПРЕТЕНЗИИ В СВЯЗИ С ЭКОЛОГИЧЕСКОЙ ДЕЯТЕЛЬНОСТЬЮ ПРОЕКТА "КУМТОР" Следующая публикация«Кумтор Оперейтинг Компани» поддержала проведение образовательной экологической акции среди школьников Бишкека
Стоимость акций Centerra Gold Inc. на бирже в Торонто на 29.10.2020: 8.75 USD Стоимость доли акций КР в Centerra Gold Inc.: 677 265 452 USD
© 2011-2020 «Кумтор Голд Компани». Копирование материалов возможно только с письменного разрешения администрации.