Additional “Wild Animals” road signs were installed at the Kumtor mine

published: 28 September 2022

“Wild Animals” signs appeared at the Kumtor Mine site to warn of the possible appearance of wildlife on the roadway. They are mainly horned cloven-hoofed animals, such as argali and ibex.

The reason for installing the new additional signs was the population increase of argali and ibex living in the mine area and the increased cases of their appearances on the roadway. The company’s ecologists regularly monitor the population of wild animals, and have revealed a steady increase in their populations. It should be noted that any hunting in the Kumtor Mine area is strictly forbidden, and therefore local wild animals have no fear towards humans and equipment.

Drivers of Kumtor Gold Company CJSC (KGC) collected and provided information about the areas where the most frequent cases of animals entering the roadway are recorded. 11 road signs are installed at these locations. When driving into the “Wild Animals” sign area, road users are obliged to observe the safe speed limits. If an animal is near the road or on the roadway, drivers are required to reduce speed up to complete stop of the vehicle and turn on the emergency lights to attract the attention of other road users, and continue driving only after making sure that the way is clear.

Kumtor is committed to protection of wild animals and their habitat. To this end, all employees are trained on how to behave when meeting wild animals at the mine site. First of all, employees are required not to interfere with the natural life of wild animals. “This includes not feeding them in any way. At first glance, it may seem be a concern, but by feeding the animals, we actually interfere in their natural habitat,” said Kubanychbek uulu Nursultan, an engineer of the Environmental Protection Department of Kumtor Gold Company CJSC.

Previous publicationKumtor is operating in a stable and routine manner Next publicationKumtor Balykchy Marshalling Yard awarded the winners of a safety marathon
© 2011-2022 "Kumtor Gold Company." Copying of materials is possible only with written permission.

На руднике «Кумтор» установили дополнительные дорожные знаки «Дикие животные»

Опубликовано: 28 September 2022

На территории рудника «Кумтор» появились дорожные знаки «Дикие животные», предупреждающие о возможном появлении на проезжей части представителей животного мира. В основном это парнокопытные рогатые животные — архары и козероги.Причиной установки новых дополнительных знаков стал рост поголовья горных баранов и козлов, обитающих в зоне деятельности предприятия, и участившиеся случаи их выхода на проезжую часть. Экологи компании регулярно проводят мониторинг популяции диких животных, и наблюдения выявили стабильный рост их численности. Отметим, что любая охота на территории рудника «Кумтор» строго запрещена, и поэтому местные дикие животные без опаски относятся и к человеку, и к технике.

Водители ЗАО «Кумтор Голд Компани» (КГК) собрали и предоставили информацию об участках, где чаще всего фиксируются случаи выхода животных на дорогу. На этих локациях и установлены 11 новых дорожных знаков. Выехав в зону действия дорожного знака «Дикие животные», участники дорожного движения обязаны следить за безопасной скоростью передвижения. Если животное окажется вблизи дороги или на проезжей части, водители обязаны снизить скорость вплоть до остановки транспортного средства и включить аварийную световую сигнализацию для привлечения внимания других участников дорожного движения, а продолжить движение можно лишь убедившись, что путь свободен.

«Компания «Кумтор» выступает за охрану диких животных и среды их обитания. С этой целью всех сотрудников при трудоустройстве обучают как вести себя при встрече с дикими животными на участках рудника. От работников, прежде всего, требуется не вмешиваться в естественную жизнь диких животных. В том числе ни в коем случае их не кормить. На первый взгляд это может показаться заботой, но прикармливая животных, на самом деле мы вмешиваемся в их естественную среду обитания» — рассказал Кубанычбек уулу Нурсултан, инженер отдела охраны окружающей среды ЗАО «Кумтор Голд Компани».

Предыдущая публикация«Кумтор» работает стабильно и в штатном режиме Следующая публикацияНа Балыкчинской перевалочной базе «Кумтора» наградили победителей марафона безопасности
© 2011-2022 «Кумтор Голд Компани». Копирование материалов возможно только с письменного разрешения администрации.