The value shares Centerra Gold Inc. on the Toronto Stock on 17.06.2021: 7.99 USD Value of Kyrgyzstan's shares in Centerra Gold Inc. : 618 440 110 USD

Safety is a core value at Kumtor

published: 16 August 2021

Kumtor Gold Company CJSC (KGC) is operating in a safe, stable, and planned manner. To achieve such results, the team of the KGC Temporary External Manager had to overcome serious resistance from the Canadian company Centerra Gold (Centerra). On May 15, 2021, prior to the introduction of Temporary External Management in KGC, Centerra remotely disabled the access of all KGC employees to global IT systems and servers.  It was an attempt to paralyze the KGC operations. As a result, critical systems for monitoring the stability of the pit walls and waste dumps were also locked out at the Mine site.

“Without warnings, without any prelude, personal computers were shut off thus denying the access to the servers that were used by us to collect all the information from our radars and other measuring devices. The data comes to the server room and then via software it goes to our computers, and this access was completely restricted”, recalls the Senior Geomechanics Engineer Salamat Toguzbaev.

The simultaneous locking of all IT systems and communication means posed a real threat to the safety and life of our employees. In addition, the locking of databases where mining and exploration data as well as all the necessary historical data were stored, had a negative impact on the activities of all company departments. We should not forget that the Kumtor Mine is located at an altitude of more than 4,000 meters above sea level, in an earthquake-prone zone, where any earthquake, even a weak one, can trigger the movement of glaciers. Thus, the Centerra actions put the lives of the company’s employees and the Mine operations at risk. Only for this reason, the Kyrgyz Republic authorities were forced to urgently introduce temporary management in KGC to ensure safe operation of the company.

Thanks to the well-coordinated work of the employees under the competent and effective leadership of the Temporary External Manager Tengiz Bolturuk, all IT systems and communications were promptly restored or replaced with more efficient similar ones. Now Kumtor employees feel safe in the workplace.

Currently, systematic work is being carried out to eliminate the flaws and drawbacks indicated in the State Commission report. The Company is making plans for the future. The new strategy for the Mine development, which has already been implemented by the team of Tengiz Bolturuk, includes a more advanced mining method. Underground gold mining is safer for the environment and will help preserve the glaciers of our country. Finally, the issue that both the state and the civil sector have been demanding from Centerra Gold to resolve for many years, started being finally addressed.

“Should both Cameco and Centerra had respected our laws and not violated them from the very beginning, we would have continued our cooperation. The current situation is the result of a predatory attitude to our nature, corruption and disregard for the laws of the Kyrgyz Republic. Kumtor operation is underway. So will it continue in the future as well. Now we are stronger and more mobilized than ever!”, – assured the KGC Interim External Manager Tengiz Bolturuk.

_____________________________________

Kumtor Gold Company CJSC (KGC) adheres to the philosophy of openness and transparency in its work. The KGC activities are exclusively subject to and governed by the laws of the Kyrgyz Republic.

Previous publicationKumtor is running at full operating speed Next publicationProduction modernization at Kumtor
The value shares Centerra Gold Inc. on the Toronto Stock on 17.06.2021: 7.99 USD USD Value of Kyrgyzstan's shares in Centerra Gold Inc. : 618 440 110 USD
© 2011-2021 "Kumtor Gold Company." Copying of materials is possible only with written permission.

Безопасность работы — главный принцип «Кумтора»

Опубликовано: 16 August 2021

ЗАО «Кумтор Голд Компани» (КГК) работает безопасно, стабильно и в плановом режиме. Чтобы добиться таких результатов команде Временного внешнего управляющего КГК пришлось преодолеть серьезное сопротивление со стороны канадской компании «Центерра Голд» («Центерра»). 15 мая 2021 года, до введения в КГК Временного внешнего управления, «Центерра» удалённо отключила доступ всех сотрудников КГК к глобальным информационным системам и сервисам. Это была попытка парализовать деятельность КГК. В результате заблокированными оказались в том числе и критически важные системы мониторинга устойчивости бортов карьера и отвалов пустой породы на руднике.

«Без предупреждений, без каких-либо предпосылок, были отключены пользовательские компьютеры, доступы к серверам, с помощью которых мы собираем всю информацию от наших радаров и других измерительных приборов. Данные поступают в серверную, а от неё с помощью программного обеспечения на наши компьютеры и этот доступ был полностью ограничен», — вспоминает старший инженер-геомеханик Саламат Тогузбаев.

Одновременное блокирование всех систем и средств связи создало реальную угрозу безопасности и жизни сотрудников, а блокировка баз данных, где хранилась информация о горных и геологоразведочных работах, а также все необходимые исторические данные, повлияла на деятельность всех подразделений компании. Не нужно забывать, что рудник «Кумтор» находится на высоте свыше 4000 метров над уровнем моря, в сейсмоопасной зоне, где любое, даже слабое, землетрясение может стать триггером движения ледников. Таким образом, действия «Центерры» поставили под угрозу жизни сотрудников предприятия и деятельность Рудника. Только поэтому власти Кыргызской Республики были вынуждены в срочном порядке ввести временное управление в КГК для налаживания безопасной деятельности компании.

Благодаря слаженной работе трудового коллектива под компетентным и эффективным руководством Временного внешнего управляющего Тенгиза Болтурука, все информационные системы и связь были оперативно восстановлены либо заменены на более производительные аналоги. Теперь кумторовцы чувствуют себя на рабочем месте в безопасности.

В настоящее время ведется планомерная работа по устранению замечаний и недостатков, указанных в отчете Государственной комиссии. В Компании строят планы на будущее. Новая стратегия разработки месторождения, к реализации которой уже приступила команда Тенгиза Болтурука, включает в себя прогрессивный способ разработки. Подземная добыча золота безопаснее для экологии и позволит сохранить ледники нашей страны. Наконец с мертвой точки сдвинулся вопрос, решение которого от «Центерры» много лет требовало и государство, и гражданский сектор.

«Если бы с самого начала и «Камеко» и «Центерра» уважали наши законы и не нарушали их, мы бы продолжали сотрудничество. Нынешняя ситуация — результат хищнического отношения к нашей природе, коррупции и игнорирования законов Кыргызской Республики. Сегодня Кумтор работает. Так и будет продолжаться. Сейчас мы сильны и мобилизованы как никогда!», — заверил Временный внешний управляющий КГК Тенгиз Болтурук.

_____________________________________

ЗАО «Кумтор Голд Компани» (КГК) придерживается философии открытости и прозрачности в своей работе. Деятельность КГК подчиняется исключительно законодательству Кыргызской Республики.

Предыдущая публикация«Кумтор» работает на полной производственной скорости Следующая публикацияМодернизация производства на Кумторе
© 2011-2022 «Кумтор Голд Компани». Копирование материалов возможно только с письменного разрешения администрации.